Alex Mitchell

Forest Park, Illinois, United States

Mentoring, Advising, Shadowing, and Panels

Request a Meeting
Available for:
Phone
Videoconference

Hi everyone! My name is Alex(andra) and I am a fourth year medical student. I graduated from Illinois Wesleyan University with a degree in psychology. I was a General Biology and Histology TA during my time in college. I matriculated directly after graduating in 2014.

MORE

After being unsure of my specialty for a very long time, bouncing aruond from surgery to oncology to dermatology, I've finally decided to pursue a career in family medicine! It feels like the perfect choice since it allows me to stay broad in my interests and to have lifelong connections with my patients. I'm also concurrently working on a masters degree in bioethics and health policy. Loyola has a great MD/MA dual degree program, so feel free to ask me about it if you're interested in ethics!

I've played piano for most of my life, and we have an awesome music group on campus that performs for pediatric patients--if this sounds like your cup of tea, please ask me about it! I also did 8 weeks of urologic oncology research through the STAR program at Loyola, so I'm happy to discuss research options here at Loyola too.

My other interests/hobbies are watching horror movies, singing in the shower, and attending trivia downtown. Also eating. Eating is the best. Fun facts: I have a semi-earless cat named Mara. She's very cute. I was in 4-H for years and raised goats--yes, goats--for a long period of time. I took a photography course in Barcelona when I was in college. Last fun fact: I'm getting married this year! If you ever have questions or concerns about maintaining a social/family life during med school, I'd love to chat with you.

If you read this far, I'm impressed!